Red Orks

A friend is involved in the same community for kill team as I am, and I offered to paint his Orks for him. He wanted “red Orks with bling gold guns”. I tried to capture this in a way which kept in theme with a scruffy ork army thing – so nothing too shiny, but still bling.

I treated this like a commission – even though I wasn’t charging, to see how quickly I could paint a squad to a good standard. These 10 took me roughly 2 evenings working solidly, estimated about 8 hours start to finish, though most were pre primed.

If I were being paid I probably would have done the eyes too – but I think for free these are very good quality. I only edge highlighted skin, and dry-brushed the guns. This saved alot of time for no blatant disadvantage.

cof

Colours used:

Primer – Black

Skin:

Base tone – Vallejo Model Air Burnt Umber (Airbrushed)

Highlight 1 – AP Zombicide Crusted Sore (Airbrushed at 45 degrees)

Highlight 2 – 50/50 Crusted Sore + Vallejo Model Air Red (Airbrushed at 90 degrees)

Edge Highlight 1 – Mephiston Red

Edge Highlight 2 – 50/50 Mephiston Red/Troll Slayer Orange

Clothes:

Alternated between VMC Leather Brown and VMC German Camo Medium Brown

Washed with Agrax Earthshade

(Didn’t bother to edge highlight, don’t feel it was worth time for scruffy clothes)

Boots – Rhinos Hide

Metal:

Leadbelcher, Washed with Agrax Earthshade

Guns:

Retributor Armor, Washed with Agrax Earthshade

Drybrush: Leadbelcher (For scratched effect)

Bone/hand wraps:

VMC German Camo Beige, Washed with Agrax Earthshade

Base:

VMC Tan Earth, Washed with Agrax Earthshade

Drybrush: Ushabti Bone

Tuft: War painter Scenics, Dead vegetation

 

 

Posted in 40K

Leave a comment